The Journey is the Destination…

Image

“There is nothing like returning to a place that remains unchanged to find the ways in which you yourself have altered.” – Nelson Mandela

So, I was trying to figure out what I should write about on my first blog date and I decided to go with something I have been thinking about lately. As we near 30 (I know, I know it is scary to think about) I find myself reflecting on where I am but most of the time, I’m left wondering what I’m yet to do. I think we sometimes forget that happiness is a state of mind, a mood, and that we own the choices we make that lead to our desired destinations; what ever those may be for you.

So, when I turned 27 this summer I decided to start doing the things that I have always wanted to do but never made time for. I think Laura was the first of us to mention the 30 before 30 list. A list of all the things a woman should accomplish before she turns 30. Because, let’s face it, 3 years is not that long and I wanted my list to be meaningful I narrowed mine to 10 before 30. These are the things I have always been passionate about but never made time for:

  1. Finish my Masters in I/O Psychology (Graduation July 2013 🙂
  2. Buy my first LV Speedy Handbag
  3. Buy my first pair of Louboutin’s ( this signifies that it is no longer a choice between the shoes and my rent!!)
  4. Learn how to play the Piano
  5. Learn to read music (I can sing and match pitch, but this has never been a strong point for me)
  6. Finish learning how to speak Italian
  7. Go to Italy!
  8. Take a photography class (bought my first DSLR this summer and love it! The picture above is my very own 😉
  9. Read Homer’s Iliad
  10. Go to the 2016 Olympics in Brazil!! (I will actually be 31 by then, but close enough)

There is no time like the present my friends and I can’t wait to start pursuing the items on my list (they will, of course, be sprinkled with lots of UN reunions!!) Go make your lists; I can’t wait to read them!!

4 thoughts on “The Journey is the Destination…

  1. I’m so glad you chose this as your first post! You’ve inspired me to take another look at my list. Looking forward to marking a few of those off your list with you! xoxo

  2. This is great Perla! I am still working on my 30 before 30 …although I have already crossed out a couple major items on that list aka moving and goin out alone (safety first) lol

Leave a Reply

